top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Windmill Welcome Sign

Welcome friends and neighbors into your home with this farmhouse style windmill sign. It only costs about $3 to make! The end result is also gift worthy, so make two and give one to a friend!

Supplies:

DT Sign (Easter decor aisle)

DT Windmill (outdoor spring decor aisle)

White Acrylic Paint

Foam Brush

Sharpie

Ruler

Needle Nose Pliers

Ribbon (3 coordinating styles)

Raffia

Button (optional)

E6000

Large Paper Clips

Hot Glue/ Glue Gun

Grab your DT sign and flip it over to the back. Remove the twine hanger (put it aside for later). Paint the back of the sign. I used three coats. Allow to dry. I like the aged look of the windmill but you can paint it and add details to it if you like.

TIP: You can use the printed side but the glitter should be sanded off first. You may need an extra coat of acrylic paint or you can use chalk paint to get better coverage. Once the paint is dry, grab a sharpie and a ruler.


Using the scallops at the top as a guide, draw vertical lines all the way across. Use a sanding block to distress the sign, going over each line and the edges until you get your desired look.


Now it's time to attach the windmill. I used E6000 because of the material and weight. I simply lined it up from the bottom center and pressed down. Hot glue will not adhere so I held it in place with clamps until dry (usually overnight).


I added the twine hanger back to the top and then made a bow using three different ribbons. I cut two strips of each at about 6 inches long. I criss-crossed the ribbon (forming an X) starting with the widest one on bottom and the narrowest ribbon on top. I also added raffia to the very top and tied it all together with a piece of raffia. I glued the ribbon to the top of the sign, just below the hole at the top. I thought it needed a little something extra, so I added a button to the middle of the bow.



And that's it! She's all done... wasn't that easy? If you make one, be sure to share a picture of it over on the Halcyondale Cottage Creative Facebook page! ~Kittie

3,323 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page