top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Vinyl Shelf Liner Decor


I admit, I like the challenge of making something out of nothing. Maybe it's rooted in my pure fascination of the Creator creating everything out of nothing; creating man out of dust and everything we see out of the void of life and light. Made in His image, He has planted something deep within me to create but not only to create but also to see things for what they could be. In this case, it's inexpensive seasonal decor from...of all things... shelf liner!


Here are a few ideas to help spark your creativity, too!



This lil bunny was made using shelf liner and a wooden cutout from Dollar General. You may be thinking, "why not just use the cutout?" But i want to use it as a template for other projects, plus I want something with a little more fluff to it!


First, I folded the shelf liner in half then traced the design onto the liner. Carefully, I cut out the design, flipped it right side out and glued the edges together. I left an ample opening at the bottom to stuff the bunny.


Using a small dowel, I pushed separated cotton balls into the bunny, careful to get into the small crevices of the ears. I glued the opening shut, added a raffia bow and a cotton tail, then glued on two burlap carrots from the Dollar Tree.


I ended up using the bunny in a spring wreath for my back door. You could make up several of these and add to a basket or tray. If you wanted to just use one cutout, you could glue it flat onto a canvas banner or onto an inexpensive reverse canvas picture. If you add wire to the back, you can hang it on a wall with a big bow or attach it to an Easter basket. I think adding a name or word to it in a Rae Dunn font would be super cute!


Using the scraps from the bunny cut out, I made a few other items. There are so many possibilities here...


The small bunny clips can be added to plain napkin rings, in terracotta pots filled with greenery, or even used on message or picture boards. I also used shelf liner and stamps to make small Easter frames using words like "Risen" and "Grace". OR you could personalize them and use for name cards at each place setting. The frames are from Dollar Tree as well. The small white pompoms are from Hobby Lobby. I think these would be pretty at a reception or shower using different shapes and ribbon. If you have an Easter tree, these would be PERFECT ornaments!!! Even a few of the stuffed bunnies would be cute in an Easter tree.


I hope these ideas inspire you to think outside of the box and get creative in your own home. Don't forget to follow us on facebook and share your ideas there, too!


Blessings!

Kittie







121 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page