top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Farmhouse Style Herb Canisters


Remember the metal canisters from my Dollar Tree haul? I decided to dress them up to use for my window sill herb garden! To make them, you'll need:


DT Canisters

Twine

Chalk Paint

Paintbrush

Letter Stamps & Ink

Sandpaper

Glue gun & glue sticks

Button (optional)


First, make sure your canisters are clean. I used alcohol wipes to clean mine. Once dry, paint the canisters with chalk paint. I used Dixie Belle's Cotton chalk paint but you can use whatever you have on hand. I wanted a distressed look, so I only painted them with two coats of paint, allowing the chalk paint to dry between coats. Now, to distress them, I used a sanding block from Dollar Tree then wiped off the residue. Next, I grabbed my set of letter stamps and black ink pad from Hobby Lobby and found the letters to spell out basil, thyme, and mint.

TIP: If you don't have stamps, you have several different options... you can use your Cricut or Silouette to cut out the words. Or you can write the words onto the canisters with a pencil then go back over it with a paintbrush and black paint. OR you can freehand with a black sharpie. I think using a sharpie to create a Rae Dunn look would be gorgeous!



Here is a close up of the thyme canister. I like the wonky lettering but if you like a uniform, straight look then I suggest using a piece of painter's tape to create a clean line to stamp. It's just a matter of personal preference. Do what you love!


For the last step, I wanted to give them a little more detail, so I made twine handles by braiding six strings of twine together (in the length desired) and knotted them at each end. I glued the twine knots onto the rim of the canister (see final picture) creating faux handles. The next step is optional, but using my glue gun, I added a black button to the top.


Can you believe the end result? Three BEAUTIFUL farmhouse style herb canisters! I absolutely LOVE how they turned out! And ya know what else else I love about them? It only cost me $3 to make them because I used items I already had in my craft room! I encourage you to look around at what you have on hand to create something NEW that you love, too! Don't forget to go back to Halcyondale Cottage Creatives to comment on this craft with other crafters. I'd love to see pictures of your crafts!


Kittie

Halcyondale Cottage


66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page