top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Farmhouse Decor - Painted Glass Bottles

Stylish Farmhouse Decor doesn't need to break the bank. With this easy DIY, you can create shabby chic style farmhouse decor with a little chalk paint and items you probably already have at home!


Supplies:

  • Glass Bottles or Jars

  • White Chalk Paint

  • Sandpaper

  • Paintbrush

Optional supplies:

  • Glass knobs

  • Lids

  • Jute

  • Wooden Beads

  • Embellishments


Gather your supplies. Think outside of the box when choosing your bottles and/or jars. Look at what you have on hand already! Mason jars, pickle jars, olive oil bottles, etc.. Make sure the glass is clean (I use alcohol swabs) before embellishing or painting. I embellished these bottles with DT stickers to give it a faux hobnail design. I let the Mod Podge dry completely before applying the chalk paint. You can use your glue gun to make the same design and you won't need to use Mod Podge. Get creative!

Remove the cork (if applicable) and paint the glass bottles with chalk paint. I used Dixie Belle's Fluff. The paint was originally $11.99 for an 8 oz jar and I've used it on SO MANY projects... furniture, glass, unfinished wood, and plastic. A little goes a long way and it is easily cleaned with a damp cloth. I allowed the paint to dry completely before sanding and distressing it with sandpaper. I sanded away any drip marks and some of the paint on the raised designs of the bottle.

Once you have distressed the bottle, you can use the original cork or change them out with pretty glass knobs. I found these distressed glass and gold knobs at Hobby Lobby on clearance for $.69 (originally $6.99 each). If using jars with lids, simply glue on a knob, bead, or small figurine/trinket then paint (I like using black or gold spray paint). For the bottles pictured, I added jute to the neck of one and a beaded tassel to the other bottle. I'll be using these in my living room on a shelf next to our family pictures. They would be lovely in our kitchen, too. You could also use them on your dining room table with single stems of your favorite greenery or use them as candlestick holders for a romantic centerpiece! Ooh-lala!

Total Cost: (both bottles) $3.58

I already had the paint, mod podge, jute, and beads. Each jar cost only $1, and the stickers were only $1 for the sheet (I only used a few of them). The knobs were $.69 each. DON'T FORGET to share your project on the Halcyondale Cottage Creatives Facebook group.



41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page