top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Advent - Week Two - Peace

Updated: Dec 9, 2019


Let me hear what God the Lord will speak, for he will speak peace to his people, to his saints; but let them not turn back to folly. Psalm 85:8


When you think of perfect peace, what comes to mind? Your bills paid in full? Job security? A number on the scale? The perfect relationship? Quietness after caring for your family? How important is it to maintain peace in your life? For the psalmist, peace was the result of listening to God and not turning back to old ways of thinking and acting. Maybe in the past, you spent too much money during the holidays and ended up in debt? Maybe you overindulged last year and spent months focused on slimming your waistline? Our flesh calls out to us, our pride echoes it's sentiments and before you know it, we fall back into old patterns of thinking.


Grieved, we petition, "Lord, I thought I put this behind me."


One of our greatest life struggles is to abide in the Lord, to remain close to Him, and to be faithful to Him. Spiritual discipline is necessary to "walk in Him" daily, but the rewards of disciplined living are so worth it. Read John 15:1-17. In it, Jesus is teaching his disciples the power, POWER, of abiding faith. Seven times, Jesus said "remain" (abide) in Me. We are to remain in the Lord and in His Word. While it is tempting to focus on ourselves or our circumstances, God longs for an intimate, loving relationship with us. The intimacy of peace is offered to us but it comes through faithfully abiding in Him. Peace is grounded in the truth and love we find as we seek Him. Thankfully, we have an advocate in heaven, Jesus Christ, who gives us His peace, unlike the temporary earthly peace we find in other things. We have also been given a precious gift, the Holy Spirit. Our Helper. Our Comforter...


"But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. You heard me say to you, ‘I am going away, and I will come to you.’ If you loved me, you would have rejoiced, because I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I." John 14:26-28


We know that Jesus offers us His peace, so we must not allow our hearts to be troubled or afraid. However, we cannot passively wait to feel peaceful. We must pursue God's peace, receive His grace, and refuse to live without His presence. In your pursuit, don't only give Jesus all that you are but all that you are not. In our weakness, He is made strong. We no longer have to fear or carry the burden of a troubled mind and soul, but we can walk fully in the peace that Jesus, the Prince of Peace, gives us.


So, as we begin the second week of Advent, let's remember His faithfulness and willingness to give us peace.


Lord, thank you so much for your promise that if I abide with you, you will give me your peace. Your perfect peace is unlike anything else that the world may offer me. I'm so thankful for Jesus' example of faithfulness. Even as He drew in His first breath, He was about your business, Father; to save me from the grips of fear and death. Come Holy Spirit and guide me back again and again to my Jehovah Shalom, the Lord of Peace. I am no longer held captive to sin, but ransomed by the blood of the perfect Lamb of God. I praise you and love you! Amen


Additional Scripture:

Psalm 85:1-2, 8-13

Isaiah 40:1-11

2 Peter 3:8-15

Matthew 3:1-12

Philippians 4:7

Hebrews 12:14


Additional Resources:



54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page