top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Expectancy

There is so much on my mind these days with all the news of COVID-19. I am concerned about the safety of my family, especially my husband because he is an EMA captain. His team is on the front lines, along with the nurses and medical staff caring for the sickest patients. Yet with my concern, there is something else; a profound sense of peace. I have this reassurance that no matter what happens, God is in control.


Last night, For King and Country hosted a live event on YouTube. They felt moved to sing their Christmas hit "Drummer Boy". It's a song about a boy who celebrates the birth of the King by playing a drum for Him. He thought He had nothing to offer Jesus, but he ended up praising Him with his one talent...


"Shall I play for you, pa rum pum pum pum
On my drum?"


Something stirred up within me and I rose to my feet and danced! With my arms held high, I danced for Him. Joy overtook me and I danced for my King! So many things welled up inside of me at that moment but I recognized what it was that had been holding hands with the peace I've felt all along -- EXPECTANCY!


And I'm not the only one. Christians from all over the world are displaying a spirit of expectancy. Singers are singing, musicians are playing, artists are creating, dancers are dancing, intercessors are praying! It's as if God's family is ushering in the Bride-Groom before the wedding. Another thing... people are pulling out their Christmas lights and decorations. Why is the Spirit moving us to do this? I'm sure theologians would have the answer to that but all I can do is share with you what I'm experiencing; Expectancy. Hope. Joy. Peace. Kinda sounds like Christmas, doesn't it?

And with that spirit of celebration for my King, I decided to do something I've never done before. After King and Country's event, I pulled out two small Christmas trees that usually flank my bedroom fireplace and I decorated Easter trees! LOL, it doesn't make sense but it does, right?!? Easter reminds me that He is returning one day. It reminds me to put all my hope in Him. With that, I encourage you to first, pray... He hears you. Then, celebrate that He is your King in a unique way using the gifts and talents He's blessed you with. Then, I encourage you to live each day with expectancy of His return. Share the news with others. He's returning one day and what a celebration that will be!


BTW, here are the trees and decorations...





68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I am His

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page