top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Advent Week Three - Joy

Updated: Dec 16, 2020



Joy. A simple three letter word that can be so hard to grasp, especially during a holiday when we may find ourselves in a valley. Friend, it's no wonder that when the Bible refers to Joy, it often follows suffering. God doesn't command us to embrace His Joy without knowing and considering our suffering. In fact, your suffering is where Joy is commanded to reside.


The Psalmist wrote this verse with a personal understanding of suffering. Weeping. Grief. Sorrow. Despair. Was this suffering at the hand of someone else or maybe at his own hand? The pain is the same. The grief, guilt, and hurt are the same. Hurt happens but misery is optional! You may think about how things were before that moment and you may wonder if you'll ever feel joy again. Friend, not only is there joy after the storm but joy can be found IN the storm! God demonstrates His own love towards us, even as we are suffering. It is in light of our suffering that He commands joy but we must first trust Him to restore joy in our lives.


I can relate to the Psalmist. I've wept in wonder and wept in regret. I've suffered loss and my grief was inconsolable. Things have happened in my life that cannot be undone. There were sorrowful times when I couldn't see anything but pain through my tears. Times when my suffering felt overwhelming but I can tell you this... He didn't abandon me. I can look back and see His care and faithfulness and because of His care and faithfulness, I can trust that He has my future in mind. He has eternity in mind when He comforts me, allowing my tears to water my faith. As my faith grows, so does my expectation! Joy will burst forth and bellow out from those deep places of suffering and God will be glorified!


"Joy is nurtured by anticipation... Just as joy builds on the past, it borrows from the future. It expects certain things to happen." Eugene Peterson


With Joy, expectation. With expectation, trust. Will you trust Him in your suffering? Will you receive His Joy with expectation? Let's meditate on the word this week as we invite Christ into our places of suffering. Trust Him to restore your joy. Come, Lord Jesus. Be my joy!


Additional Scripture:

Psalm 126

Isaiah 61:1-4, 7-11

Nehemiah 8:10

1 Thessalonians 5:16-24

Matthew 11:2-11


Additional Resources:





35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page