top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Advent - Week One - Hope


May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust Him, so that you may overflow with HOPE by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13

At Advent, HOPE fills us with anticipation of what we know is coming -- Christ's return! For centuries, God's people had been eagerly waiting for the Messiah. Their hope, our hope, was born in Bethlehem. What does that mean for us today as we try to find hope in everyday life? Let's begin by asking...


"What do you hope for Christmas?"


I hope that over the next four weeks that I'll grow in expectancy of His return. I hope to know Him more fully. I hope that I'll love Him more deeply. I hope I'll share him more boldly than ever before. I hope that I'll pray more fervently. How do I begin?


This year, our family will be celebrating together by lighting a candle each Sunday for Advent and reading aloud the correlating scripture for that week (see below). The first candle represents Hope. As we reflect on what Jesus, the Hope of Glory, means to us, I pray that the Holy Spirit brings about an expectancy in us that cannot be quenched by anything but Jesus. If Jesus is to reign in my life this Advent season, I have to ask myself, "what do I need to lay down to make room for Him?" Is it Fear? Pride? Busyness? Distractions? I don't want to be so busy decorating my home perfectly or finding the perfect gift that I miss making room for Christ, THE perfect gift to mankind. My hope rests on His promise to never leave me or forsake me. No matter the circumstances that I may be facing, I know that God is sovereign and He has it all under control! All I ever needed was wrapped in swaddling clothes and laid in a manger all those years ago... from the cradle to the cross, He loved us enough to become flesh. The first breath of hope was met with an exaltation from heaven, "Holy! Holy! Holy!" Until His return, this is my prayer of Hope for Advent...


" Lord, my expectant heart rejoices in Your coming return! I will wait for You as I find hope in Your word. I lay down any distractions that may keep me from seeking you fully. Holy Spirit, come and help me to remember the reason I celebrate Christmas - my faith in Emmanuel. Help me find the courage to share the good news of HOPE this Christmas. I love you and praise your Holy Name, Amen"


Friend, be sure to join me every Sunday for a new devotion. I pray that these words bless you and remind you of the HOPE you already have in our Messiah. Below are some additional resources for you to use during the week. Have a blessed week! Don't forget to meet me back on the VIP page and leave your comments on the devotion post. Your words may encourage someone else! ~Kittie



SCRIPTURE:

We will be reading through the book of Luke, a chapter a day, through the month of December. For week one of Advent, I suggest the following verses:


MUSIC:


ADDITIONAL RESOURCES:



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page