top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Writer's pictureKittie McGuire

Love Series: A Broken Vessel

Updated: Oct 6, 2019


I hear story after story of broken women who are too ashamed to talk to God. They've become isolated and are weighed down with doubt... the world has hushed their cries and told them that they have nothing worth saying. Incapable of feeling love, of feeling anything other than remorse, a void is left where God should be, where ONLY He can reside. They feel tossed aside, no longer valued and no longer loved.


But that, my friend, is a lie!


In Japan, there is an art form called Kintsugi, or golden repair. It is the art of mending broken pottery with lacquer dusted or mixed with powdered gold, silver, or platinum.. This form of art treats breakage and repair as part of the history of the pottery, rather than something to disguise. Not only does the pottery become a piece of art, but the broken places become stronger! It is made even more beautiful than it was before it was broken! Isn't that what God does with our fractured pieces?


The Lord is near to the brokenhearted

And saves those who are crushed in spirit.

Psalm 34:18


God isn't expecting us to come to Him as perfect, flawless people. We have a past. We've been told by the world that we are hopeless, but we do have hope through Jesus Christ. When we go to Him in prayer, He takes those broken places and fills them with His love, grace, and mercy. His spirit pours out over us and fortifies our shattered hearts, freeing us to be loved and to truly love again.


You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:6-8


Mercy is God demonstrating His own love for us. We didn't do anything to deserve it! He chose to love us! Broken and flawed, He loves us still! It isn't about who we are when we come to Him, it's about who He is and how His love CHANGES us! And even when we don't know what to say, the Holy Spirit intercedes for us (Romans 8:26-27). When the words won't come out just right and the tears are flowing down your face, by faith, cry out to Him! Come, Lord!


And do you know what???

Mercy answers.


By his compassion and loving-kindness, His grace and mercy are given in exchange for your guilt and shame. In exchange... that means He has taken it from you!


He saved us, not because of any works of righteousness that we have done, but because of His own compassion and mercy, by the cleansing of the new birth (spiritual transformation, regeneration) and renewing by the Holy Spirit. Titus 3:5


Can you say without a doubt that you know the depth of God's love for you? Do you hesitate to believe that you are forgiven? Are you ready to lay it all down?


If so, pray with me...


Father, I cry out to you with a broken heart. My spirit is so weak and my mind is weary from worry. I can't go on without you, Jesus. Please take this from me! Lord, forgive me. Rrenew my spirit! Abide with me. Thank you for your love, your compassion, and your grace. Lord, pour out your spirit over me. Holy Spirit, be with me, show me, and guide me! In Christ Jesus' name, I bind any work of the enemy. He says I'm worthless but you, Jesus, loved me enough to die for me. Thank you for loving me when the world said I was unlovable. I accept your love, right now. Lord, please help me to love myself and forgive myself and help me to forgive those who have hurt me. I give my life to you. In Christ's name I pray, Amen.


I would love to hear back from you! If you prayed that prayer, let us know in the comments below or by email to halcyondalecottage@gmail.com

68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© HALCYONDALE COTTAGE. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page